Don't Text And Drive
WJAC-TV is partnering with local businesses to distribute thumb bands across the area. The TXTL8R thumb bands are designed to remind drivers to "text later!" Help us put the brakes on texting and driving. Sign the pledge, and then follow through on your word. We're all counting on you.
Did you know that nearly 6,000 people died each year in accidents related to distracted driving and 500,000 others are injured.Did you know that texting takes your eyes off the road for an average of five seconds. At 55 mph, that’s like driving the length of a football field completely blind.
Anti-texting law to take effect March 8 in Pennsylvania
Pennsylvania’s new law prohibiting text-based communication while driving will take effect at 12:01 a.m. on March 8, making texting while driving a primary offense carrying a $50 fine.
The new law specifically does the following:
• Makes it a primary offense to use an Interactive Wireless Communication Device (IWCD) to send, read or write a text-based message.
• Defines an IWCD as a wireless phone, personal digital assistant, smartphone, portable or mobile computer or similar devices that can be used for texting, instant messaging, emailing or browsing the Internet.
• Defines a text-based message as a text message, instant message, email or other written communication composed or received on an IWCD.
• Institutes a $50 fine for convictions.
• Makes clear that this law supersedes and preempts any local ordinances restricting the use of interactive wireless devices by drivers.
In 2010, there were nearly 14,000 crashes in Pennsylvania where distracted driving played a role, with 68 people dying in those crashes.
Learn more online at www.dot.state.pa.us and choose “Anti-Texting Law.”
Using a mobile phone while driving is dangerous. We all know that.Download the latest Don't text and drive App today.Search your App market on your phone and stay safe.
Sponsored by: University of Pittsburgh - Johnstown & Brant's Driving School